Ayodhya Parikramas

Hindu Pilgrimage | Lord Rama

Saryu River - Photo Courtesy Mukul Faiz

Ayodhya is noted for its parikramas that are undertaken by Hindu Pilgrims. These are circumambulations of important religious places and are of varying duration

Antargrahi Parikrama - Shortest of three Parikrama routes. After taking a dip in the Saryu, the devotee commences the parikarma from the Nageshwarnath temple and passes through Rama Ghat, Sita Kund, Manipuravata and Brahma Kund, finally terminating at Kanak Bhawan.

Panchkoshi Parikrama - Circuit of 15-16 kms which touches Chakratirtha, Nayaghat, Ramghat, Saryubagh, Holkar-ka-pura, Dashrathkund, Jogiana, Ranopali, Jalpa Nala and Mahtabagh.

Chaturdashkoshi Parikrama - Constitutes a circular journey of 45 kms made once a year on the occasion of Akshainaumi, which is completed within 24 hours.


Related Destination

Related Things To Do

  • Ramkot

    Temple or Holy Place, Heritage Site
    The chief place of worship in Ayodhya is the site of the ancient citadel of Ramkot which stands on more


    Ayodhya ( 1 Kms )